Prairie Lakes Area Education Agency

Special Education

Special education is specially designed instruction, support, and services provided to students with an identified disability requiring an individually designed instructional program to meet their unique learning needs. The purpose of special education is to enable students to successfully develop to their fullest potential.

In carrying out its responsibilities under the Individuals with Disabilities Educational Improvement Act (IDEA, 2004) and the Iowa Administrative Rules of Special Education, the Special Education Division carries out child find and evaluation activities in accordance with the Area Education Agencies Special Education Procedures Manual, and provides support and related services to eligible individuals as determined by Individual Education Plan (IEP) teams.

Kris Ahrens is the Prairie Lakes AEA Special Education Director. 

Services are provided for children birth through the age of 21 and can be accessed through requests made by parents or school personnel. Click here to learn the PLAEA staff supporting your school. Each school district is assigned a Regional Administrator that serves as the primary contact for PLAEA services within in the district. 

Teresa Alesch -  Clay Central-Everly, Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven/Ayrshire, Harris-Lake Park, Okoboji, Spencer, Spirit Lake

Pam Stangeland -  Eagle Grove & Fort Dodge

Jenn Peter-  Clarion-Goldfield-Dows, Greene County, Northeast Hamilton, Paton-Churdan, South Hamilton, Southeast Valley (Prairie Valley & Southeast Webster - Grand), Stratford, Webster City

Chris Wells - Algona, Emmetsburg, Estherville Lincoln Central, Estherville Lincoln Central, LuVerne, North Union/North Kossuth, West Bend-Mallard

Molly Elston -  East Sac County, Gilmore City-Bradgate, Humboldt, Manson Northwest Webster, Pocahontas Area, South Central Calhoun, Twin Rivers

Jennifer Sammons - Alta-Aurelia, Albert City-Truesdale, Laurens-Marathon, Newell-Fonda, Schaller-Crestland, Sioux Central, Storm Lake



© 2003-2018 Prairie Lakes Area Education Agency. All Rights Reserved.