Mandatory & Non-Mandatory Trainings
Online Trainings for Mandatory Reporter of Child and Dependent Adult Abuse and OSHA Compliance Information
Mandatory and non-mandatory trainings can be accessed through the link https://training.aeapdonline.org/
If you're a first time user and not registered in the system, you will need to register in the new system. Before you try to register, ask your school secretary for the district password. Once you have that information, click register into the system.
If you've already registered and are in the system, you will need to enter your username and password.
When a current user logs into the system as before and attempts to resume or begin a new training, usually the system will recognize what district the user currently belongs to. However, there might be some instances when it does not. To proceed, you will need to click on “edit your student info”. On this screen, you will see where you can change your AEA and district to the correct information. Once you make the changes, and resume registering for an individual training, the prompt will change to show the district you are currently in.
If you're not currently employed in a school district, please select Pay Customer from the menu on the left once you get to the site.
Once you've submitted, the next page will ask you for your payment information.
There is a $25 charge for educators to complete the Mandatory Reporter training.
Click here for online training instructions.
Fee structure for districts
There will be a charge of 50 cents per student (based on certified enrollment) for a district to have access to the other online trainings on the system.
- This includes many district responsibilities such as the OSHA trainings, the 103b legislation on seclusion/restraint and the medication administration trainings (training in all those areas are required by law for the employer).
- Since this is a district responsibility, the charge goes to the district and will be invoiced at the beginning of the year. Districts will have their own password for the trainings, which will not work until they have paid.
Click here for instructions for "new" users to the system.
Printing Certificates for Mandatory Reporter Training
Starting Friday, April 27, 2012, Heartland AEA will be putting in place the ability for participants to print their own certificate for the Mandatory Reporter training (in the past, we were required to print the certificates out at Heartland AEA and then mail them). The procedure to print the certificate is the same as it is for the other trainings. The only difference is that the certificate will not be available until the participant has paid for the training ($25).
If a participant is paying via check, they will have the ability to print the certificate about 2 weeks after Heartland AEA receives the check (for the purposes of processing). The participant will receive an email once it has been processed and she is able to go in and print.
New training to the online system-Child Abuse Reporting (Non-Licensure)
This course is designed as a brief review on the topics of identifying and reporting suspected child abuse in the state of Iowa.
This course does not satisfy any legal requirements for mandatory reporting of abuse training within the state of Iowa. Participants seeking to meet the legal requirements for teacher licensure must complete the Mandatory Reporting of Child and Dependent Adult Abuse training.This training was requested heavily by districts as an alternative to having support staff pay the $25 fee when they were not seeking licensure (especially in light of the Penn State situation earlier this year). In addition, it serves as a good annual review for teachers, without requiring the $25 fee annually.